As a notary public in the State of New Jersey, you have UNLIMITED financial liability on EVERY document you notarize. You do not want to take the office of Notary Public lightly. The New Jersey Online Notary Course is the fastest, easiest and most affordable way for you to learn what to do and how to protect yourself as a notary. Whether you are a new or current notary public, you should spend some time learning the laws. It's less expensive than an attorney consult!

Interactive New Jersey Notary Course Features:

Video Instruction

We use the power of the internet to bring an instructor right into your computer. The instructor will teach and reinforce the materials to help you retain and connect with it. We even provide you detailed instructions on how to obtain your commission! The video can be accessed at any time, from any computer, tablet or phone with internet access. Plus, you can re-watch the videos as many times as you like.

Immediate Access - No Delays!

Because we value your time, upon receipt of your payment, you will IMMEDIATELY be granted with access to your notary course. You can start your New Jersey notary training in just a few minutes!

Instant Access

Social Interaction

Your course includes a social forum to ask questions and receive responses from your instructor and other students in a classroom-style discussion.

Instant Access to Your Proof of Completion Certificate

After completing the course, you will have access to a Proof of Completion Certificate. Display it proudly to show you take your notary commission seriously and that you are well-trained in the laws and procedures of New Jersey notaries public.

How to Become a Notary Public in New Jersey
Step by Step Instructions

  1. Complete the Online New Jersey Notary Training Course (not required)
  2. You must file an application with the New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services (DORES) and pay the filing fee of $25 (plus a convenience fee of $5 if filing online). Your application must be endorsed by a State Legislator before being submitted to DORES. Applications filed online will be endorsed electronically by State Legislators. Paper applications must be submitted to a State Legislator for endorsement before filing with DORES. The Notary Public Online Application System (NPAFS) and paper applications are available from DORES' website at:
  3. Besides entering your personal information, you will need a credit card or electronic check information to submit your application. If you are not a New Jersey resident, you will need to upload an electronic copy of a business affidavit to attest that you are employed in New Jersey. Applicants with a criminal conviction will need to upload certified copy of the judgment(s) of convictions and certificate showing completion of a rehabilitative program(s). Acceptable file format for uploads include JPG, PDF and PNG, with 3 MB as the maximum file size limit per file.
  4. Acceptable forms of payment are MasterCard, Visa, Discover, American Express as well as debit cards that can be processed as a credit card. In addition, there is an eCheck option for payment.
  5. If you filed your application online using NPAFS, you can expect to receive one or more e-mails that will provide the status of your application. In addition, you can check the status of your application at any time from here by using your Payment Confirmation Number. This number can be found in the e-mail we sent to you after receiving your application. If you filed your application by paper, you may contact our Notary Public Unit to find out the status of your application.
  6. After DORES accepts and processes your application, you will be mailed the Notary Public Commission Packet. To be commissioned as a Notary Public in New Jersey, you must take your Commission Packet to your County Clerk Office's within 90 days to swear to the Notary Public Oath of Office. Please be aware that you must pay an additional fee of $15 to your County Clerk for the recording of your Oath of Office.


Commission Term: 5 years
Minimum Age: 18 years old
Residency: Resident or Employee
Stamp/Seal: Not Required
Journal: Recommended
Application Fee: $30
Eligibility: No major convictions
Other: Be able to read and write English

NJ Division of Revenue
Business Support Services/Notary Section, PO Box 452
Trenton, NJ 08646

Phone: (609) 292-0642
Have a group of people that need training? We currently offer online or live training for your business or organization. To inquire about group training programs please contact us.