If you want to become a Florida Notary Public or need Florida notary supplies, trust Notary.net to deliver high-quality supplies and support.

How to Become a Notary Public in Florida
Step by Step Instructions

Since July 1, 1996, applications have been submitted by bonding agencies both in paper format and in an electronic format approved by the Department of State. The application form is prescribed by the Department of State and consists of 3 parts: (1) Personal information: name, social security number, date of birth, sex, race, residence address, place of employment, business address, home phone, business phone, Florida driver's license number or other state issued identification, information about any previous notary commission, residency status, citizenship status, criminal record, and information about any professional licenses. (2) Oath of office: The applicant must sign the following oath. The signature is the notary's legal signature on file. State of Florida __________ County I do solemnly (swear) (affirm) that I will support, protect and defend the Constitution and Government of the United States and of the State of Florida; that I am duly qualified to hold office under the Constitution of the State of Florida; that I have read Chapter 117, Florida Statutes, and any amendments thereto, and know the duties, responsibilities, limitations, and powers of a notary public, and that I will honestly, diligently, and faithfully discharge the duties of Notary Public, State of Florida, on which I am now about the enter (, so help me God). Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read the foregoing application and oath and that the facts stated in it are true. I accept the office of Notary Public, State of Florida. (3) Affidavit of Character: A person who is unrelated to the applicant and who has known the applicant for at least one year must give a sworn statement that the applicant is of good character. Note: The application form no longer requires notarization. The total state fees are $39. $25 application fee $10 commission fee $ 4 education surcharge Veterans who served during a wartime period defined in law and who have a disability rating of 50% or more are exempt from the $10 commission fee. A veteran who qualifies should request the reduction in writing and provide proof of exemption. See section 117.01(2), Florida Statutes, (effective 1/1/97). Once the appointment is made, the commission certificate is usually mailed back to the bonding agency, who forwards it to the notary with the notary seal.


Commission Term: 4 years
Minimum Age: 18 years old
Residency: Florida Resident
Stamp/Seal: Required
Journal: Required
Bond: $7,500
Application Fee: $39
Eligibility: Civil rights restored

P.O. Box 6800

Tallahassee, FL 32314-6800

Phone: (850) 245-6975